Jared Mees Disqualified from Atlanta Short Track for using Chemically Altered Tire

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (April 27, 2018) – Following an American Flat Track post-event tire sampling from the Atlanta Short Track held April 8, 2018 at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, Ga., AFT Twins competitor Jared Mees on the #1 machine has been disqualified for using a chemically altered tire.

Four tire samples from four different machines were taken after the Main Event in Atlanta, and all were submitted to an independent lab for chemical analysis. Three of the samples were deemed to be in compliance with the benchmark sample provided by Dunlop. The sample from the #1 machine ridden by Jared Mees was not in compliance, however, and indicated the presence of several chemicals known to be used in motorsports to alter tire compounds.

According to the 2018 American Flat Track Rulebook, the rider of the #1 machine ridden by Jared Mees is in violation of Rulebook section 3.8.b (pg. 44): “Tires: No chemical applications are permitted.”

Pursuant to the 2018 American Flat Track Rulebook, Section A3.1 Equipment Offenses and Penalties (page 84), this is a Category 1 offense: “An equipment violation that could potentially enhance the performance of a motorcycle used in competition.”

Effective immediately, the rider of the #1 machine – Jared Mees – has been served with the following penalties in accordance with Section A3.3:
• Disqualification from the Atlanta Short Track
• Total loss of points from the event
• Total loss of prize money from the event
• Probation for 12 months

Revised results for the AFT Twins Main Event at the Atlanta Short Track are as follows:
1. Kenny Coolbeth, Jr.
2. Jeffery Carver, Jr.
3. Jarod Vanderkooi
4. Henry Wiles
5. Johnny Lewis
6. Brad Baker
7. Bryan Smith
8. Jake Johnson
9. Kayl Kolkman
10. Briar Bauman
11. Sammy Halbert
12. Danny Eslick
13. Brandon Robinson
14. Chad Cose
15. Jay Maloney
16. Wyatt Anderson
17. Robert Pearson
Revised point standings are as follows:
1. Kenny Coolbeth, Jr. 36 points
2. Henry Wiles 32 points
3. Brad Baker 27 points
4. Jared Mees 25 points
5. Jeffrey Carver, Jr. 24 points
6. Briar Bauman 24 points
7. Jake Johnson 24 points
8. Bryan Smith 22 points
9. JD Beach 20 points
10. Jarod Vanderkooi 20 points
11. Kayl Kolkman 16 points
12. Sammy Halbert 16 points
13. Johnny Lewis 15 points
14. Brandon Robinson 13 points
15. Davis Fisher 12 points
16. Robert Pearson 11 points
17. Danny Eslick 7 points
18. Mikey Rush 5 points
19. Chad Cose 5 points
20. Jay Maloney 4 points
21. Wyatt Anderson 3 points
22. Bronson Bauman 2 points